UWA Handbook 2017

Special faculty dates

Special faculty dates

  1. UWA Business School
  2. Faculty of Education
  3. Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

UWA Business School

Trimester dates

Trimester 1—30 January to 21 April
Trimester 2—15 May to 4 August
Trimester 3—28 August to 17 November

Back to top

Faculty of Education

Graduate Diploma in Education

First semester
Classes begin Mon 27 Feb
Non-lecturing study break Mon 10 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Classes end Fri 2 June
Professional Practice I Mon 29 May to Fri 30 June
Second semester
Classes begin Mon 17 July
Professional Practice II Mon 14 Aug to Fri 22 Sept
Non-lecturing study break Mon 25 Sept to Fri 6 Oct
Classes end Fri 17 Nov

Master of Teaching (Secondary) (Graduate entry)

First year
First semester
Classes begin Mon 27 Feb
Non-lecturing study break Mon 10 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Professional Practice A Mon 29 May to Fri 16 June
Classes end Fri 2 June
Second semester
Classes begin Mon 17 July
Professional Practice A Mon 14 Aug to Fri 1 Sept
Non-lecturing study break Mon 25 Sept to Fri 6 Oct
Classes end Fri 17 Nov
Second year
First semester
Classes begin Mon 27 Feb
Non-lecturing study break Mon 10 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Classes end Fri 2 June
Professional Practice B Mon 22 May to Fri 30 June
Second semester
Classes begin Mon 17 July
Non-lecturing study break Mon 25 Sept to Fri 6 Oct
Examination/Forum Week Mon 23 Oct to Fri 27 Oct
Classes end Fri 17 Nov

Master of Teaching (Early Childhood or Primary) (Graduate entry)

First year
First semester
Classes begin Mon 27 Feb
Non-lecturing study break Mon 10 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Professional Practice A Mon 29 May to Fri 16 June
Classes end Fri 2 June
Second semester
Classes begin Mon 17 July
Professional Practice A Mon 14 Aug to Fri 1 Sept
Non-lecturing study break Mon 25 Sept to Fri 6 Oct
Classes end Fri 17 Nov
Second year
First semester
Classes begin Mon 27 Feb
Non-lecturing study break Mon 10 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Classes end Fri 2 June
Professional Practice B Mon 22 May to Fri 30 June
Second semester
Classes begin Mon 17 July
Examination/Forum Week Mon 23 Oct to Fri 27 Oct
Classes end Fri 17 Nov

Master's degrees in Education

First semester
Classes begin Mon 27 Feb
Non-lecturing study break to be advised
Classes end Fri 9 June
Second semester
Classes begin Mon 17 July
Non-lecturing study break to be advised
Classes end Fri 27 Oct

Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

Doctor of Medicine

Year 1
Orientation Wed 25 Jan
First semester Mon 30 Jan to Fri 23 June
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 17 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 12 June to Fri 16 June
Examination week (1 week) Mon 19 June to Fri 23 June
Vacation (2 weeks) Mon 26 June to Fri 7 July
Second semester Mon 10 July to Fri 8 Dec
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 18 Sept to Fri 22 Sept
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 27 Nov to Thu 30 Nov
Examination week (1 week) Fri 1 Dec to Wed 6 Dec
Year 2
First semester Mon 30 Jan to Fri 12 May
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 10 Apr to Fri 14 Apr
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 15 May to Fri 19 May
Examination week (1 week) Mon 22 May to Fri 26 May
First semester continues Mon 29 May to Fri 16 June
Vacation (2 weeks) Mon 19 June to Sun 2 July
Second semester Mon 3 July to Fri 24 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 11 Sept to Fri 15 Sept
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 27 Nov to Fri 1 Dec
OSCE examination Fri 1 Dec
Examination week (1 week) Mon 4 Dec to Fri 8 Dec
Year 3
First semester Mon 30 Jan to Fri 19 May
Semester break (1 week) Mon 22 May to Fri 26 May
Second semester Mon 29 May to Fri 15 Sept
Semester break (1 week) Mon 18 Sept to Fri 22 Sept
Third semester Mon 25 Sept to Fri 17 Nov
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 20 Nov to Fri 24 Nov
Examination week (1 week) Mon 27 Nov to Fri 1 Dec
Year 4
First semester Mon 13 Feb to Fri 26 May
Semester break (1 week) Mon 29 May to Fri 2 June
Second semester Mon 5 June to Fri 15 Sept
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 18 Sept to Thurs 21 Sept
Examination week (1 week) Fri 22 Sept to Mon 25 Sept
Semester break (1 week) Mon 2 Oct to Fri 6 Oct
Third semester Mon 9 Oct to Fri 1 Dec

Doctor of Dental Medicine

Year 1
Orientation Mon 23 Jan
First semester Tue 24 Jan to Fri 2 June
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 17 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 5 June to Fri 9 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks) Mon 12 June to Fri 23 June
Vacation (1 week) Mon 26 June to Fri 30 June
Second semester Mon 3 July to Fri 3 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 25 Sept to Fri 29 Sept
Study break (1 week) Mon 6 Nov to Fri 10 Nov
Annual examinations begin Sat 11 Nov to Sat 25 Nov
Years 2 and 3
First semester Mon 16 Jan to Fri 2 June
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 17 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 5 June to Fri 9 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks) Mon 12 June to Fri 23 June
Vacation (1 week) Mon 26 June to Fri 30 June
Second semester Mon 3 July to Fri 3 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 25 Sept to Fri 29 Sept
Study break (1 week) Mon 6 Nov to Fri 10 Nov
Annual examinations begin Sat 11 Nov to Sat 25 Nov
Year 4
Full Year Teaching Mon 16 Jan to Fri 1 Dec
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 17 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 25 Sept to Fri 29 Sept

Doctor of Podiatric Medicine

Year 1
Orientation Mon 20 Feb
First semester Mon 20 Feb to Fri 30 June
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 17 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 5 June to Fri 9 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks) Sat 10 June to Sat 24 June
Vacation (3 weeks) Mon 3 July to Fri 21 July
Second semester Mon 24 July to Fri 8 Dec
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 25 Sept to Fri 29 Sept
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 6 Nov to Fri 10 Nov
Second semester examinations (2 weeks) Sat 11 Nov to Sat 25 Nov
Years 2 and 3
First semester Mon 13 Feb to Fri 30 June
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 17 Apr to Fri 21 Apr
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 5 June to Fri 9 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks) Sat 10 June to Sat 24 June
Vacation (3 weeks) Mon 3 July to Fri 21 July
Second semester Mon 24 July to Fri 8 Dec
Mid-semester break (1 week) Mon 25 Sept to Fri 29 Sept
Examination study break (1 week) Mon 6 Nov to Fri 10 Nov
Second semester examinations (2 weeks) Sat 11 Nov to Sat 25 Nov

Back to top